Dance, Life, Thoughts, 日本

恐怖を放す・Releasing Fear

2016年6月9日

恐怖は不思議なことだと思っています。恐怖は手枷足枷のようになって、すぐ何もできません。そういう状態を私がよくわかります。昔の私は、緊張になると、頭の中にある理解力は消えてしまってに決まりました。リラックスできませんでした。ダンスできませんでした。

五年ぐらいダンスをやっても、今まで「私はダンスのが上手じゃない」と「自信持っていなくて、下手くそうかも」。こういう思いで恐怖が押さえられて、一歩でも進めなくなりました。

でも、今週自分のことには変わったことに気付きました。私の恐怖がなかった。感じれなかったんです。なぜでしょうか。少し前に、たぶん2016年5月に、お母ちゃんから「ヴァレリーが強くなったね」と聞きました。私もそう思いました。日本へ引っ越して、少しずつ自分の弱点を治ったり、度胸を奮ったりする仕方がないんですから。失敗するときにも、私は「こんな風にアメリカへ戻ったら本当いいの?これで終わったら本当にほしいの?」と思いました。もちろんアメリカに帰りたくないです。

私の夢を叶うために日本へ来たり、暮らしたりしたいんです。

アメリカで、いろいろなダンスクラスを受けていただきましたが、恐怖はいつも防ぐになりました。例えば、Stockton大学でモダンクラスに、床に入るとき私は全然できませんでした。踊るつもりがあっても、できませんでした。舞台負けじゃなくて、失敗する可能性が怖いと思っていました。でも、もちろんそれを考えると、達成するわけがありません。諦めたくない私が真面目にクラスを受けて、練習しましたが、段々勢いが弱くなってきました。自分の中にある火が微かになってきました。

2016年1月、尊敬した先生たちが最後の相談時に、「テクニックもありし、情熱もあるし、でもダンスの時見えない。おかしいだろう?俳優のように踊りなさい!ティアラをかぶっているように、劇場に出たように踊りなさい!」と言われました。

「恐怖を放して」先生がそういうアドバイスをあげました。「落ち着いて、疑惑を捨て、踊って。」「思わずに踊って。」

実は、今まで、その言葉を理解できませんでした。

でも、5月からダンスに関することばかりじゃなくて、様々な苦境が起きても、乗り越えれました。難しい振りが入っても、「よしーやろう!」と思っていました。最初に失敗しても、何か習うはずので、頑張っています。

そして、よく笑う時もあります。ワイデワンダンススクール・カンパニーの皆さまのおかげで、毎日には笑わせることが起きます。親切にくれて、ダンスの知識をもらって、本当に感謝しています。ワイデワンを見つけて、うれしいです。

今日青山先生がワイデワンのメンバー達はちょっと変だと言ったが、私は普通の人間じゃないから、いいですね。もしほかのスタジオに入会したら、恐怖に負けることになるかもしれません。踊られなくなるの恐れがありました。

でも、ワイデワンのみんなと関係を作って、自分の自信が空へ上がりそうです。

仲間がいます。笑顔があります。笑えるから、恐怖がありません。なので、日本へ来るのは正解です。

IMG_0773


I think fear is a mysterious thing. Fear becomes fetters, and soon nothing can be done. I know that situation well. The old me would get nervous, and in my head everything I comprehended would just vanish. I couldn’t relax. I couldn’t dance.

Even though I’ve been dancing for 5 years, until now I’ve thought, “I’m not a good dancer,” and, “I don’t have confidence, and I suck.” With these thoughts, fear seized me, and I couldn’t even take a single step forward.

But this week I realized a part of me had changed. I wasn’t afraid. I didn’t feel the fear. Why is that, I wonder? Earlier, probably in May, my mom said, “You’ve gotten stronger.” I thought so too. Moving to Japan, fixing my weak points and mustering up the grit was the only way. Even during failures, I thought to myself, “If I returned to America like this, is it really okay? If it ends like this, is that really what I want?” Of course, I don’t want to go back to America.

To achieve my dream I came to Japan and want to live in Japan.

In America, I took a lot of dance classes, but fear always got in the way. For example, at Stockton University, in Modern, when we’d go to the floor, I could never do it. Even though I intended to dance, I couldn’t do it. It wasn’t stage fright, it’s because I think the probability of failure is scary. But, of course thinking that, there’s no way to succeed. Not wanting to give up, I seriously took class and practiced, but my energy weakened. The fire inside me dimmed.

This January, teachers I truly respect said this to me during our last meeting: “You have technique and passion, but when you dance, we can’t see it. Isn’t it strange? Dance as a performer would! Dance like you’re wearing a tiara and out on stage.”

“Release your fear,” was some other advice I got. “Calm down, throw away doubt, and dance.”

“Don’t think, dance.”

The truth is, until now, I didn’t comprehend those words.

Since May various dilemmas not just related to dance happened, but I overcame these hardships. Even though there’s difficult choreography, I think, “All right, let’s do it.” Even if I fail at first, there’s something to learn from it, so I’ll do my best.

There’s also laughter. At Y-De-One Dance School and Company, thanks to everyone, there’s always something to make me laugh. The kindness and wisdom I receive is something I greatly appreciate. I’m so happy I found Y-De-One.

Today Aoyama-sensei said that the dancers at Y-De-One are weird (different from other companies in Japan), but I’m not normal either, so it’s fine. If I went to another studio, I probably would’ve given into fear. I probably wouldn’t be dancing.

But by making relationships at Y-De-one, my own confidence is going to soar into the sky.

There are companions. There are smiles. Because I can laugh, there’s no fear. Because of these things, coming to Japan was the correct choice.

Leave a Reply

